Senator Ken Yager elected Senate Republican Caucus Chairman

State Senator Ken Yager (photo submitted)

NASHVILLE, December 3, 2018 – State Senator Ken Yager (R-Kingston) was elected today by his colleagues to serve as Chairman of the Tennessee Senate Republican Caucus. The election took place as the Caucus met in an organizational meeting in Nashville to prepare for the 111th General Assembly.

Yager was elected on the first ballot in a three-person race for the key leadership post.

Senator Yager was first elected to the General Assembly in 2008. He currently serves as Chairman of the Senate State and Local Government Committee and the legislature’s Joint Fiscal Review Committee.

“I am humbled to earn the faith of my fellow Caucus members and to serve in this leadership role as Republican Caucus Chairman,” said Sen. Yager. “It is an honor to work alongside them to stand up for taxpayers, support hard-working families, encourage job growth and improve educational opportunities for all Tennesseans.”

Republicans hold a 27-5 supermajority in the Senate, with one vacancy set for election in March.

In other key positions elected by the Caucus, Lt. Governor Randy McNally was re-elected as the Caucus nominee for Senate Speaker/ Lt. Governor and Senator Jack Johnson (R-Franklin) was elected Senate Majority Leader.

The legislative session is set to convene on January 8.

- Advertisement -

Previous articleGuthrie Leads Rhea County to 74-59 Win Over Panthers
Next articleSenate Majority Caucus Elects Leadership for 111th General Assembly
Please email any press releases to "". Make sure to add a high quality photograph to accompany the article.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here