Sen. Yager releases powerful line-up of speakers at Grant Conference

Free Grant Conference on September 21 aims to improve opportunities for local citizens, organizations and governments.


Senator Yager releases powerful line-up of speakers for free Grants Conference at Roane State Community College

(NASHVILLE, TN), September 8, 2016 —  State Senator Ken Yager (R-Kingston) today released a line-up of speakers for his annual free Grant Conference.  The purpose of the conference is to improve opportunities for local citizens, organizations and governments to find and tap into a wide variety of grant funds available to them.

“The lineup for this year’s grants conference is the strongest ever,” said Senator Yager.

“We are fortunate to have the state grant decision makers who will offer tips to have a competitive application.  We just want to remind citizens and organizations of this free conference and let them know about the powerful line-up of speakers we have coming in to help them access available funds.”

The conference will be held on Wednesday, September 21st at Roane State Community College, at 276 Patton Lane in Harriman in the O’Brien Theatre from 8:30 am until 1:30 pm EST.  Check-in for the event begins at 8:00 am EST.

The conference is free of charge but attendees should R.S.V.P. by calling (615) 741-1449 (toll free at 449-TENN ext. 11449) or email   Those with questions may also call that number.

The agenda is:

8:00-8:30 Check In

8:30-8:45  Introductions and Welcome

  • Senator Ken Yager  Master of Ceremonies Dr. Chris Whaley- President of Roane State

8:45-9:30  Development Districts  Panel Discussion and Q &A

  • East Tennessee  Terry Bobrowski  Facilitator
  • Upper Cumberland Mark Farley (Invited)
  • Southeast  Beth Jones (Invited)

9:30-10:00  Non Profits – East Tennessee Foundation

  •   Jackie Lane   Vice President for Communications

10:00-10:30  Historic Preservation and Libraries

  •  Patrick McIntyre, Executive Director and Preservation Officer TN Historical Commission, Facilitator
  •  Myers Brown Archivist, Archives Development Program TN State Library

10:30-10:45 BREAK

  • Cindy Boshears, Cong. Fleischman’s office, will be available for questions

10:45-11:00  Federal Grants

  • USDA Chuck Morris, Business Programs Specialist
  • TEMA  Patrick C. Sheehan, Director (Invited)

11:00-12:00 Panel on State Grants

TN Dept of Environment & Conservation

  • April Johnson  East TN Recreational Services Coordinator


TN Dept of Transportation

  • Whitney Sullivan, Manager of Local Programs Economic and Community Development
  • Brooxie Carlton, Assistant Commissioner for Rural Development

12:00-12:30 Mental Health and Substance Abuse, Public Health

  • Doug Varney, Commissioner TN Dept of Mental Health and Substance Abuse
  • Jeremy P. Davis, Assistant Commissioner, Department of Health

12:30-1:30 Lunch

  • Deputy Governor Jim Henry  (Invited)
- Advertisement -

Previous articleRhea Middle Tennis teams post wins over Athens, Ocoee
Next articleTennessee Valley Theatre presents Steel Magnolias this weekend
Please email any press releases to "". Make sure to add a high quality photograph to accompany the article.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here