Bryan College Named a 2017-18 NAIA Champions of Character Five-Star Gold Award Winner

    Bryan College Earned Champions of Character Five Star Institution status for 2017-2018.(Photo:BryanCollege)

    Bryan Earns Gold Status and Ties to Top Honors

    September 2018

    ASHEVILLE, N.C. – Each year, NAIA schools use the Champions of Character scorecard to measure the pursuit of character-driven athletics. Schools scoring a minimum of 60 out of 100 points earn the Champions of Character Five-Star Institution Award. For the 2017-18 year, Bryan College went above and beyond what was required, earning the Lions the gold level distinction.

    The Champions of Character Scorecard measures growth in training, promotion, conduct in competition, and commitment in five key areas with a possibility of earning 100 points. Institutions can be recognized as Champions of Character Five-Star Institutions at three different levels: Gold (90-100 points), Silver (75-89 points) and Bronze (60-74 points).

    This year, 171 NAIA institutions earned the Five-Star Institution Award. Included were 74 institutions at the gold level, 62 at the silver level, and 35 at the bronze level.

    Not only did Bryan reach the heights of a gold level institution, but they were included in a group of 12 schools that tied for top honors with 100 points. The institutions include Bryan, Benedictine College, Briar Cliff University, California State University-Maritime, Columbia College (SC), Dakota Wesleyan University, Hannibal-LaGrange University, Lawrence Technological University, Mount Mercy University, Shawnee State University, St. Ambrose University, and the University of Saint Francis (IN).

    NAIA Conferences continue to embrace character-driven excellence with 16 conferences earning the Champions of Character Five-Star Conference Award. The Appalachian Athletic Conference, which Bryan is a member of, was one of the 16 recognized.

    The AAC had over 93.4 percent of its full-time members receive the NAIA Champions of Character Five-Star Institution Award, as a total of 13 conference schools earned the honor. The AAC joins the Heart of America Athletic Conference in having the most member institutions to earn Five-Star honors. Three other conferences had 12.

    Six institutions from the AAC are Five-Star Gold Award winners with four receiving silver and three bronze. Others to join Bryan are Columbia (S.C.), Milligan (Tenn.), Montreat (N.C.), Truett McConnell (Ga.), and Union (Ky.) who were all named Five-Star Gold institutions, while Bluefield (Va.), Brenau (Ga.), Reinhardt (Ga.), and SCAD Atlanta (Ga.) earned silver status. Allen (S.C.), Point (Ga.), and Tennessee Wesleyan each received bronze.

    Affiliate members Asbury (Ky.), Cumberlands (Ky.), and West Virginia Tech also received NAIA Champions of Character honors.

    For a complete list of the honorees, click here.

    - Advertisement -


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.