Aubrey Smith, Gavin Morrison Garner Awards

Rhea County High School football seniors Aubrey Smith and Gavin Morrison received plaques at the football banquet on Saturday.(Photo:GaryBolden/RheaReview)

Football Seniors Receive Awards for Academics, Performance: Dugger & Kaylor Receive Scholarship Awards.

January 2019

Evensville, TN At the annual Rhea County Football banquet, two players took home three football individual plagues given out each year for football team.

The Johnny Denton Academic Excellence award which goes to the player with the highest academic grade point average and ACT combined score went to Aubrey Smith. Next Gavin Morrison received the Joe Paul 12th man award. Morrison came back from severe injury to get back in lineup and did great job to win the award. Finally it was Aubrey Smith, who picked up the Bill Horton Award(voted on by players), for player who contributed the most to the program.

Also receiving awards were Payton Dugger($500 Jake York Scholarship Award) and Chandler Kaylor($500 Touchdown Club Scholarship).

Head coach Mark Pemberton said, “He(Gavin Morrison) battled back from severe knee injury and worked his way back into lineup four weeks into the season. I didn’t intend to play him so much, but we had so many injuries that we threw him to wolves early and he did a great job for us.”

About Bill Horton Award winner Smith, coach said, “The Bill Horton award is for the guy who contributes the most into our program. This guy never came off the field, as he played offense and defense and special teams while putting together some good statistics together.”

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.