Jim Reed Passes Gavel to Ronnie Raper


Rhea County Budget Committee

The Rhea County Budget Committee assembled Tuesday in the Phil Swafford Building to examine budgetary amendments and other agenda items. The budget committee must review and approve requests before items are submitted to the Rhea County Commission for final authorization.


All budgetary amendments on the agenda were approved. The next item on the agenda was a request to hire a new Rhea County Central Maintenance employee. The request was submitted in order to reduce costly overtime hours for the department. The Rhea County School Board previously agreed to split the salary for the new position given the employee was able to provide maintenance on school equipment when needed. Final item added to agenda was a request to raise the $5k threshold for purchases requiring committee approval. If approved, purchases up to $10k could be made without authorization of the budget committee. The motion was rejected 4-1.

Rhea County Commission Meeting

Once the meeting was called to order, Rhea County Veteran’s Affairs Director, Billy Metts, reported a considerable increase in federal funds for Rhea County Veterans. The additional funds will be available for recipients of VA Pension benefits.

Jim Reed, chairman of the Rhea Commission, thanks fellow commissioners for the opportunity of serving as chairman for the last two years. Reed addresses each member of the governing body and states he has enjoyed working with each in his position as chairman. Reed moves to nominate Ronnie Raper as the new chairman of the Rhea County Commission. The vote was unanimous in favor of Raper, and the gavel was passed to the new chairman. Chairman Raper thanked Jim Reed for the kind words and thanked other commissioners for their confidence in him to serve as chairman. Raper subsequently nominated Ron Masterson as vice-chair and the vote was unanimous in favor.

[pe2-image src=”http://lh4.ggpht.com/-edFKuLpsKRQ/Ujk8xnbMMMI/AAAAAAAAAhg/x1fw3iXivhw/s144-c-o/budget-committee.jpg” href=”https://picasaweb.google.com/112113402097534708117/RheaCountyCommissioners#5924833607876882626″ caption=”Rhea Budget Committee” type=”image” alt=”budget-committee.jpg” pe2_single_image_size=”w280″ pe2_gal_align=”none” ][pe2-image src=”http://lh5.ggpht.com/-JDemZOVK8Lo/Ujk8xkBJIYI/AAAAAAAAAhc/J5K6S-O08TI/s144-c-o/finance.jpg” href=”https://picasaweb.google.com/112113402097534708117/RheaCountyCommissioners#5924833606962323842″ caption=”Rhea Finance Committee” type=”image” alt=”finance.jpg” pe2_single_image_size=”w280″ pe2_gal_align=”none” ]

Next order of business was assigning commissioners to their respective committee. All county commissioners serve on either the finance committee or the budget committee. The budget committee consists of the following five members: Grover Parks, Ron Masterson, Tracy Taylor, Emmaly Fugate Fisher, and Jim Reed. The finance committee is made up of Ronnie Raper, Doyle Montgomery, Bill Hollin, Tom Smith, and Road Supervisor Tommy Snyder.

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.